Mysteries of RLWL and PQWL: Your Ultimate Guide to Indian Railways’ Waiting Lists for Confirmed Tickets

Securing confirmed train tickets on Indian Railways is akin to solving a complex puzzle, particularly during peak travel seasons. For frequent train travelers, the familiar scenario of encountering waitlisted tickets, often categorized as RLWL (Remote Location Waiting List) and PQWL (Pooled Quota Waiting List), can be both confusing and frustrating.

In this guide, we delve into the intricacies of these waiting lists, shedding light on their nuances and offering insights into how they operate.

Page Index

RLWL (Remote Location Waiting List)

RLWL, also known as Remote Location Waiting List, is a unique category of the Indian Railways’ waitlist system. This particular list pertains to tickets issued for intermediate railway stations—those strategically positioned between the originating and terminating stations. These intermediate stations often represent significant towns or cities along the railway route.

The distinctive feature of RLWL lies in its priority system. Unlike other types of waitlists, RLWL tickets’ confirmation hinges on the cancellations of destination-confirmed tickets.

The chart for RLWL stations is typically prepared two to three hours before the scheduled departure of the train. However, it’s essential to note that the chances of confirmation for RLWL tickets are reported to be relatively lower compared to other categories.

PQWL (Pooled Quota Waiting List)

PQWL, or Pooled Quota Waiting List, is another intriguing facet of Indian Railways’ waitlist mechanism. This waiting list is shared by several smaller railway stations and operates primarily from the originating station of a train journey. Despite the multitude of smaller stations involved, the entire train route is assigned only one pooled quota.

The allocation of this quota is interestingly specific. PQWL is generally allotted to passengers commuting from the originating station to a station short of the terminating one. It also caters to those traveling from an intermediate station to the terminating station or between two intermediate railway stations.

Beyond RLWL and PQWL

While RLWL and PQWL are prominent, it’s crucial to acknowledge the existence of other waiting list categories:

  1. General Waiting List (GWL): The standard waiting list for tickets.
  2. Remote Location General Waiting List (RLGWL): Similar to RLWL but without the intermediate station priority.
  3. Roadside Station Waiting List (RSWL): Reserved for passengers boarding from smaller stations along the route.
  4. Request Waiting List (RWL): Pertains to tickets requested through various booking methods.
  5. Tatkal Waiting List (TWL): Specific to the Tatkal booking system, offering last-minute reservations at a premium.

Understanding these waiting lists equips travelers with the knowledge needed to navigate the complex terrain of Indian Railways. The next time you find yourself grappling with waitlisted tickets, this comprehensive guide ensures you’ll be better prepared to decipher the intricacies of RLWL and PQWL, ultimately contributing to a smoother and more informed travel experience. Happy journeying!


  • Editorial Staff

    Mithila Today editorial team is our diverse group of passionate journalists who bring decades of experience to deliver the latest news and insights. Led by our experienced editor-in-chief, we are committed to providing accurate and engaging reporting.

Share Using:

Leave a Comment